Being 25 and working on the first degree

Being 25 and working on the first degree, I did my matric in 2009, after I passed matric, I had no idea what I was going to do, I had not planned on anything. Growing up I used to say that I want to be a doctor and I think the reason behind that was that, my dad was working in a hospital and I thought that he was a doctor, and my mother on the other side she was working in a clinic and I thought she was a nurse. only to found out when I went to high school that my mother was not a nurse, she was a care giver, she was a volunteer, and my dad works as a financial clerk. Growing up as children most of my friends and I wanted to be what our parents are and follow on their careers.

After I had passed my matric, that’s when I realised that I never applied anywhere. I did everything in the last minutes, and due to that I was not accepted in all the universities I had applied on. Because everything I applied for the faculties were full. One of my friends invited me to an open day in TUT, on our way she asked me what I was going to do or which course I will apply for. I looked at her and I did not respond on that question. The other girl was like I’m going to do Public Relations, and I did not even know what that was. My friend said that she once did PR in Damelin Collage and there was a time where they had to plan an event as part of research for PR. She said all was well until on the day of the event where she froze when she was suppose to present. I looked at her and something clicked in me that I can actually do that.

From that day I knew what I was going to do I fell in love with PR, I was in my last term in grade 12 that was in 2009. I have also realise that it is of importance to know what you want to do after matric. This is for all learners who are still in high schools and primaries too. They can also attend career events in order for them to know what they are good at and what they can do. I wasted three years of my life not knowing where to go, with no results until I was focused. This is for all learners out there, all I can say is that time wasted never regained. I wasted my time and I can never regain it, but what matters is realising where you have gone wrong, I have realised my mistakes and Iam learning from them.

To everyone out there who thinks that they too old to go back to school, that is not true, take it from me I know. It is never too late for your education, it is never too late to go back to school. I am a 24 year old about to turn 25 and I’m only working on my first degree.

Author:

My name is Makungu Edith Maluleke, I'm a third year public relations student at Midrand Graduate Institute. I'm a very dedicated person, hard working and passionate about the things I love and life. Always willing to learn new things.

Leave a Reply

